The Importance of Personal Projects

Photofocus (old site)

IMG_0468

When I first got into photography, everything was a personal project. A walk in the woods became a wonderland of images popping into my mind, a vacation became opportunity to do something exotic, a fun night out with friends a way to seek my inner photojournalist. Somewhere along the way, that fun turned away from a personal mind space where I wasn’t worried about anyone except me, to a business mind space where ultimately, I had the client’s opinion in mind.

"Eddie" “Eddie”

I’m not saying that this is inherently a bad thing. We need our clients’ approval to make a living & to stay in business. Where it is bad though, is when we begin to forget ourselves and let that spark of personal wonder and true joy of photographing start to dim. One of my good photographer friends reminded me of this a few years ago and it woke…

View original post 529 more words

Leave a Reply

