It’s Finally Time to Use the Gift Certificates

4 Mothers

dinner Years ago (could it be as many as three?!) my husband gave me the best Mother’s Day gift ever: a gift certificate from a caterer for three family meals to be delivered to the house.  Words cannot express the delight I felt.  Having dinner cooked for me and mine is almost as good as a date night when I don’t have to feed my offspring at all.

I treasured those gift certificates.  I held on to them, banking them against a day when I would Really Need Them.  They sat in my in-box and sent off a submarine-like ping to my subconscious: help is always on hand.

The thing is, by the time you are up to your eyeballs in the kind of turmoil that makes a day when You Really Need Them, the gift certificates aren’t much good anyway.  Because ordering from a caterer requires Advanced Planning.

And another thing:…

View original post 148 more words

Leave a Reply

