Is Bigger Better? Exploring Medium Format Photography

Photofocus (old site)

Pentax 645D, 25mm f/4 AL (IF) SDM AW Lens, f/11, five frame HDR, ISO 200.

Lately, I’ve been exploring medium format photography.  I recently rented a Pentax 645D digital medium format kit from LensRentals.com. This let me really test out the format and the camera.

What I Got

The kit I tried included the camera body and three lenses. I also found that the battery was really good.  It lasted all day without dropping below half. It’s a wonderful setup, and LensRentals’ service was superb with phone calls to help me with a question, and clear instructions and a shipping label for returning the gear. I highly recommend their service.

The Costs of Medium Format

The question is, why would anyone spend the money for a medium format kit? First of all, the cost of entry varies incredibly depending on which camera you get. Some brands exceed $60K for the body only. Lenses…

View original post 531 more words

Leave a Reply

