Be Who You Are: Gender Stereotypes and Children

4 Mothers

163 My 2.5 year old got invited to his very first birthday party by a friend from preschool. I confess I gushed a bit:  my little (and last) baby! going to his party on his own! For whatever reason, this milestone touched me more than some, and we were both looking forward to it with some anticipation.

I’m glad I touched base with the mom hosting, because she advised that it was to be a princess party.  Because it meant we had the *perfect* outfit:  a hand-me-down fairy dress from a friend who had outgrown it.  My son often wears this dress at home, and now he’d get a chance to wear it out too.

Apparently it’s a Tinkerbell dress, as I was advised by several women when they saw Rami.  I didn’t know; maybe I should have adorned him with a little bell too?

It was interesting seeing the response…

View original post 406 more words

Leave a Reply

